Longer life, better life

I keep thinking of the homeless girl I saw on the streets of Seattle, barefoot by choice, wearing an enchanting handmade skirt of colorful rags, two pet rats on her shoulder and her long matted hair flowing freely as she almost danced down the street. Above all, and despite what many would see as the oppression that should come with poverty and homelessness, she was undoubtedly happy.

I have had plenty of happy moments in my life and I truly am grateful for all of that I have, as well as my potential. If I am honest, despite my previous statement, I would be remiss to say that I am a generally happy person. I wouldn’t say that I am unhappy either, rather I am generally apathetically neuteral, and have been that way for as I can remember.

Lately I have been especially pathetic, complaining and whining about all sorts of imagined slights and yearnings for things that I don’t have or can’t do. Mostly, I complain about my back pain and my health, even though I am extraordinarily lucky.

As I sit here in a Seattle Starbucks, reflecting, I have come to realize that the Dailyburn weight loss challenge is not only a great chance to extend my life, but also my attitudes. Losing weight alone will not bring me optimism, rather optimism can help me lose weight. I do not need to “find myself”, people “are” whomever and whatever they choose to be.

Change will not come overnight, but my first step is desiring change. That, for today at least, along with the memory of the happy rat girl, is enough.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by foodgal on August 23, 2009 at 7:59 pm

    I found your blog through the DailyBurn CEO Weight Loss Challenge. I’ve put on an extra 15 pounds over the past year and have wanted to lose it, but just haven’t put forth the effort. Every time I’ve tried it’s seemed too hard. Seeing you get involved in this challenge inspires me because it’s much more difficult for you to do this and you are doing it. It made me think…if you can do it…I can too. Thanks for being an inspiration!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

